Jury Panel

2019 Prairie Wood Design Awards
Jury Panel 2019

We are honoured to have the following design professionals join us for on the 2019 jury panel:

Eleanor Brough, Associate, Sarah Wigglesworth Architects (SWA), London, UK
Eleanor Brough is a graduate of Cambridge University and University College London and has worked for ten years with SWA delivering a number of award-winning buildings. In 2016 she won the RIBA North West Project Architect of the Year Award for her work on Mellor Primary School, an exemplar rural school project. She has expertise in the education, housing and cultural sectors and currently heading up an urban regeneration project in Nottingham, UK and is leading the initial design stages of an new nursery in a riverside rural site in Yorkshire, UK.

Lubor Trubka, Architect AIBC, FRAIC, Principal in Charge/Lead Design Architect, Lubor Trubka Associates Architects (LTA), Vancouver, BC


Established in 1975, Lubor Trubka Associates has been providing architectural expertise to clients across North America, Asia and Europe. Lubor’s projects have frequently been recognized for their design excellence, innovation, efficiency and sustainability, resulting in international commissions. Lubor is an enthusiastic advocate of wood construction and in 2008 became the second recipient of the Canadian Wood Council’s Wood Champion Award.

Cory Zurell, Principal, Blackwell Structural Engineers, Toronto, ON


Cory is a structural engineer, managing Blackwell’s Waterloo, Ontario, office. He has a particular interest in timber design—a subject he also teaches for civil engineering students at the University of Waterloo. He is a member of the PRG-320 standard committee for CLT and is currently the chair of the timber design subcommittee for CSA S6, the Canadian Highway Bridge Design Code.


The Prairie Wood Design Awards recognizes Excellence in Wood Construction across the Prairies in seven categories. The Awards program was established in 2000 in Ontario and is currently in its 11th year in Alberta, recognizing our local design and construction professionals for their commitment to sustainable and economic building choices and utilizing Canada’s abundant renewable resource, wood.