Jury panel for 2012 Awards

Page 2 of 2

Edmonton, AB (July 9, 2012) – Alberta Wood WORKS! is honoured to announce the three-member jury panel for the 2012 Prairie Wood Design Awards.

They are:

  • Duff Balmer, Design Principal of Perkins + Will
  • Darryl Condon, Managing Principal of Hughes Condon Marler Architects
  • Christine Macy, Dean of the Faculty of Architecture and Planning at Dalhousie University



Duff Balmer, B.Sc., B.Arch. OAA, NSAA, MRAIC
Design Principal, Perkins + Will

As a Design Principal, Duff is responsible for the overall conceptual design. Duff is involved throughout all phases of work to ensure that his design vision remains strong and consistent at every level of detail and construction.

Since joining the firm in 1996, Duff has worked on a number of civic, institutional, recreation and community-oriented projects. In 2008, Duff was awarded the prestigious Ontario Association of Architects Award of Excellence as well as an Athletic Business, Facility of Merit Award for his innovative design of the Recreation, Athletics and Wellness Centre at the University of Toronto at Mississauga.


Managing Principal, Hughes Condon Marler Architects

Darryl Condon is Managing Principal of Vancouver based Hughes Condon Marler Architects. He has been responsible for the design of innovative and award winning recreation facilities across Canada, including the Vancouver Olympic Centre, West Vancouver Aquatic Centre and the Whistler Public Library. Darryl studied architecture at McGill University. He is a registered Architect (in British Columbia, Alberta and Ontario), a LEED Accredited Professional and a Fellow of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada.


Christine Macy, BA(Arch) (Calif. at Berkeley), MArch (MIT)
Full Professor; Dean, Faculty of Architecture and Planning, Dalhousie University

Christine Macy teaches architectural design and modern architectural history and theory. Her research areas include the representation of cultural identity in architecture, public spaces, civic infrastructure, temporary urbanism and festival architecture. Educated at the University of California, Berkeley and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, she practiced architecture with the Edelman Partnership in New York and MACK Architects in San Francisco before establishing her partnership, Filum, with Sarah Bonnemaison in 1990, specializing in lightweight structures and public space design for festivals. Before joining the faculty at Dalhousie, Prof. Macy taught at UC Berkeley and the University of British Columbia. She is the Atlantic Region correspondent for Canadian Architect and is on the Advisory Board for the Berkeley Prize.





The Prairie Wood Design Awards recognizes Excellence in Wood Construction across the Prairies and Territories in seven categories. The Awards program was established in 2000 in Ontario and is currently in its 6th year in Alberta, recognizing our local design and construction professionals for their commitment to sustainable and economic building choices and utilizing Canada’s abundant renewable resource, wood.